On the tree blooms the Rose here in Love’s own garden

by Nathan Rutz

20141002_143124

Hey! I got bored with posts for like 6 months I guess. So here goes a bunch of thoughts and goings on!

Late Summer

20141002_143124

sour cherry tree

sour cherry tree

Apricot tree grew like mad!

Apricot tree grew like mad!

woops - cucumber got too big

woops – cucumber got too big

one of my favorite shots - trailing nasturtiums with poppies

one of my favorite shots – trailing nasturtiums with poppies

pink popcorn stalks - the popcorn turned out quite nicely

pink popcorn stalks – the popcorn turned out quite nicely

dinosaur kale was my most favorite kale all season, great flavor while staying tender

dinosaur kale was my most favorite kale all season, great flavor while staying tender

perennial "sea kale" never really took off, hopefully it will next season

perennial “sea kale” never really took off, hopefully it will next season

a co-worker gave me a small transplant cleome flower which I neglected for several weeks, but it seems to have enjoyed its new home!

a co-worker gave me a small transplant cleome flower which I neglected for several weeks, but it seems to have enjoyed its new home!

ground cherry dried out on the west facing slope of the second hugulbed during a few weeks with little rain

ground cherry dried out on the west facing slope of the second hugulbed during a few weeks with little rain

I didn't eat enough of the marvelously growing swiss chard this year. Leaves eventually turned brown and got gross.

I didn’t eat enough of the marvelously growing swiss chard this year. Leaves eventually turned brown and got gross.

lots of things growing here

lots of things growing here

these little, late season ground cherries never got quite as big and delicious as the earlier season ones

these little, late season ground cherries never got quite as big and delicious as the earlier season ones

this hazelnut bush didn't do as well as the other for some reason

this hazelnut bush didn’t do as well as the other for some reason

all three of the hardy kiwis (2 female 1 male) grew very nicely this year

all three of the hardy kiwis (2 female 1 male) grew very nicely this year

yay poppies

yay poppies

Fall

I think some of the above pictures qualify for actually being in fall. Oh well.

Garlic Planting

I got my seed garlic at the Cleveland Garlic Festival from the people of http://www.enonvalleygarlic.com/

I got my seed garlic at the Cleveland Garlic Festival from the people of http://www.enonvalleygarlic.com/

well I took pictures of 3 of the 4 bags of garlic I planted and am missing pictures for one of them... uh oh

well I took pictures of 3 of the 4 bags of garlic I planted and am missing pictures for one of them… uh oh

I dug 36 cloves of garlic into the existing beds. This garden is a study in chaos and seeing how much junk can fit into one area, it seems. Maybe I can stagger plants in time. Also there are more areas that could be planted…

Black Walnuts

I harvested black walnuts from the front yard of the apartment where Samantha and I live now. I picked em green off the ground. Rolled em under my boot to take the outer husk off, rinsed em, got my hands all stained, and let them dry for about 4 weeks.

Then I attempted to crack them. Turns out a brick on the driveway was the best way given the equipment I had.

black walnut in shell

cracked walnut

bag o' walnut meat

I didn’t weigh how much nut meat I ended up with. The flavor is much different than English walnuts you get at the store. Seemed to have a tart note to it. I liked em, Samantha didn’t like em at all.

Winter

It got cold quick in Cleveland, mid-November it snowed and got really frigid after being fairly mild for quite a while. I tried to get wood chips delivered by a tree service again but had no luck despite 4-5 emails and some calls.

I want to keep my compost breaking down, especially now that it seems I might need loads of it to dilute leaded soil (more on that in a later post). Fortunately the neighbors made some nice moveable compost insulators for me and left them on their treelawns. I happily picked them up:

insulated compost pilehappy composter

 

Oh yeah there was a court summons about my garden being too tall in August. I’ll try to make a post about that. It got dismissed.

As of today this is what the garden looks like, most of the action is in compost land:

dead kale

disconnected and drained rain barrel. It fell over earlier.

disconnected and drained rain barrel. It fell over earlier.

bike trailer is still not quite good for use. The cage I made isn't that great and needs to be sanded down in spots to not rub against the spokes of the wheels. Also it needs some cross beams to not flex around and act stupid.

bike trailer is still not quite good for use. The cage I made isn’t that great and needs to be sanded down in spots to not rub against the spokes of the wheels. Also it needs some cross beams to not flex around and act stupid.

the compost pile is growing nicely

the compost pile is growing nicely

The sparkle strawberry variety I got from Fedco trees seems to be nice and aggressive, runners are running all over the place. Both strawberry varieties (Earlyglow and Sparkle) have emerged from the snows just fine and somehow still growing. Maybe next season I can sell some of the runners....

The sparkle strawberry variety I got from Fedco trees seems to be nice and aggressive, runners are running all over the place. Both strawberry varieties (Earlyglow and Sparkle) have emerged from the snows just fine and somehow still growing. Maybe next season I can sell some of the runners….

bucket o' mushy old cherry tomatoes. I'm going to try to harvest the seed.

bucket o’ mushy old cherry tomatoes. I’m going to try to harvest the seed.

If you’ve made it this far, thank you.

 

Future posts I hope to do are

-the court summons

-lessons learned

-plans for next season

